Home > Travel Overseas > Anti-Boycott Regulations

Anti-Boycott Regulations

It is illegal to work or engage with entities which participate in the boycott* of Israel.

If you run across any language which supports the boycott* of Israel, it must be reported to the U.S. government by law.

Countries which may require participation or cooperation with the international boycott* are:

  • Iraq
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Syria
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Republic of Yemen

Examples of Israeli Boycott Language

The following are examples which, if accepted, would violate anti-boycott* laws. If you encounter similar language, you are required to report this language to the government immediately. Contact Export Controls.

  • "Importation of goods from Israel is strictly prohibited by Kuwait import regulations; therefore, certificate of origin covering goods originating in Israel is not acceptable."
  • "Contractor shall comply with the Israel boycott* laws in performing his contractual obligations."
  • "Certificate from insurance company stating that they are not blacklisted."
  • ".... do you have or any of your subsidiaries now or ever had general agencies or offices in Israel?"
  • "Invoices must be endorsed with a certificate of origin that goods are not of Israeli origin and do not contain any Israeli material and are not shipped from any Israeli port."

About Us | Related Offices | Duke University

© Office of Research Support, Duke University 2003-2013